Hurricane Katrina

A friend sent me this and I fell in love with it. Worded perfectly.

“Women like me do not fall gracefully,  we stumble over our spines, trip over  our vowels, and collapse into your arms.

Our hearts are open books,  Russian novels containing fifty pages on the way your voice drifts across  the telephone wires each night.  Our hearts are first drafts, unedited verses about each and every  person we have ever loved: the stranger  on the subway, the girl who gave us a balloon,  the boy who stole our virginity  but not our heart.

Women like me will love you from a distance of a thousand syllables while laying in your bed, we will destroy you in the most beautiful way possible, and when we leave you will finally understand why storms are named after people.”

-Katrina, M.K.

And the edited version by someone else:
Do not fall in love with people like me.
I will take you to museums, and parks, and monuments,
and kiss you in every beautiful place,
so that you can never go back to them without tasting me like blood in your mouth.
I will destroy you in the most beautiful way possible.
And when I leave you will finally understand,
why storms are named after people.
— Paraphrased and mixed from Katrina, M.K., and Unknown
This entry was posted in Love, My Thoughts, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hurricane Katrina

  1. April says:

    I’m not sure if the second version is paraphrased. According to GoodReads, it seems to be attributed to Caitlyn Siehl, from a book called “Literary Sexts: A Collection of Short and Sexy Love Poems.”

Leave a Reply

